15th March- Bolton

The 1st meeting of the BSL season was scheduled earlier than normal to allow Bolton to hold a round before the imminent closure of the YMCA  which has been home to their club since the late 70’s. With no likelihood of new premises being found the club were resigned to this being the last meeting they held. On the eve of the meeting the club was given the great news that new premises were being made available courtesy of the efforts of an old member.

This clearly lifted spirits of all attending at a general  time of great gloom. However this was tempered a little by the lack of racers attending with illness & transport delay exiting Spain taking account of 2 regular racers while others opted not to travel.

The actual racing went down well with all racers & still proved a very good send off to the old premises. Young Harry Shepherd comfortably won the C Final from Glenn Atterton with a score that would prove to be faster than B Final winner Peter Donely. Graham Walker was 2nd  in the B Final to take top clubman after Garry Jones who was well clear hadl a lead wire breakage. Pete Clarkson, who was dogged by stripping gears all day, was soon out of contention in the A Final leaving Paul Shepherd to win a very tightly contested A Final with myself which was made for a great battle.

With planned team partner Damon Ryland still trying to get out of Spain, Glenn Atterton stepped in to partner me as Fylde+ & manged to hold off Team Shep for the win.

Many thanks to Bolton for hosting the meeting which as it turned out was particularly good timing to hold a round in view of restrictions announced just the following day. We wish them very good luck in moving to their new premises.

Clearly the health emergency is likely to have a major effect on the series this year but until we see how things progress there is no point in speculating what meetings can be held or re-scheduled.

To all racers, keep healthy & hopefully we will literally get back on track later in the year.

Steve Sargent

1/32 Heats

1/32 Finals

Team Race

© Copyright  British Slotracing League 2020  All rights reserved

BSL 2020  British Slotracing League